BooksByCC

"Books may well be the only true magic" – Alice Hoffman


Book Blurb:

If only I’d told her that I loved her years ago, then I wouldn’t be here now.

Finn has always loved Autumn. She’s not just the girl next door or his mother’s best friend’s daughter, she is his everything. But she’s not his girlfriend. That’s Sylvie, and Finn would never hurt her, so there’s no way Autumn could know how he truly feels.

Jack, Finn’s best friend, isn’t so sure. He’s seen Finn and Autumn together. How could she not know? And how is he supposed to support and protect Finn when heartache seems inevitable?

Autumn surrounds herself with books and wants to write her own destiny—but one doesn’t always get a new chapter and fate can be cruel to those in love.

Told through three different perspectives, If Only I Had Told Her is a love story brimming with truth, tragedy, and unexpected bonds that heal us.

My Thoughts:

I was not prepared.

I was not prepared for the amount of sorrow I would feel for Autumn and their family and friends. For the life they should’ve had and the plans that inevitably are frozen in time.

I was not prepared for the amount of times I put myself in her shoes and imagined that kind of loss. For going from declaring undying love and passion to an abyss. I always felt that that’s the hardest thing about death – the final jarring note it strikes.

They often say we are stronger than we think and I have to believe as women God gave us a little extra strength because, he knew life would definitely try and break us. So he made our bones bend-able, pliable. He gave us more leg room in the heart division for all the days of our lives where we will need an extra shield. Autumn is wearing her shield. Except now she is not just protecting herself…

I found myself back in Missouri, USA. Standing beside Autumn as she finds a version of herself who knows how to live in this new world where everything is alien. This world where she eats old powder candy and sits in circles talking amongst 12 strangers about the biggest losses of their lives. This world where she makes ultrasound decisions and decides if the future has a crib or a shared bed. A world in which the future that’s unfolding she never saw coming. They never saw it coming. Even as Autumn painfully puts one foot in front of the other sometimes in a haze, she heals, because sometimes just getting up is winning.

It breaks my heart for what they didn’t get to do but begs the question again… would you rather cboose a lifetime of never knowing or a moment of extraordinary love?

I know what I choose and even though that choice can be painful if the worst happens. I would choose that everyday. Autumn did too. You my friend, if you don’t know, go get the book then ask yourself the question. I was not prepared for how much time and thoughts and feelings I would have for this book.

I rated it ⭐⭐⭐⭐ on Goodreads.

Well done Laura. You made me cry, made me think, made me appreciate. Thank you.t

This was gifted to me by Penquin Random House. Thank you so much.

And you, tell them. I hope you never live the regret of ‘if only…’

I think I will just sit here in gratitude.

Ciao ,
Love Cece xx


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started